Salt Lake City Comic Con 2013

For as long as I can remember, I’ve wanted to attend a Con somewhere in America. So when Dan Farr Productions announced that they were putting a Con together in Salt Lake City, I jumped at the chance and bought a ticket (J was free). I was so excited that J and I were going to share the experience of attending our first Con together that I completely spaced that there were going to be tens of thousands of people. Luckily since we are in Utah the Con was held on Thursday – Saturday, so there would be less people on the first two days.

Thursday was an epic day of panels, people watching, and exhibits. J and I walked through artist alley, and walked by all the tables where the celebrities would be signing autographs and taking pics. I saw a small line in front of Walter Jones’ booth, so J and I made our way over to his table for a pic and an autograph.

Power Ranger
Walter Jones, me, J

Friday was a bit busier. More awesome panels, more artists and celebrities on the exhibit floor, and more amazing cosplayers. J even did a little cosplaying in a little Doctor outfit that I put together.

The Doctor outfit
J’s Doctor outfit

We met some new friends while taking a break from walking around, some of them were decked out in amazing cosplay outfits and some were (like me) in a character tshirt. Cosplayers were taking pictures of other cosplayers, J even made it in a pic with a few other Doctor cosplayers. While on the exhibit floor J and I met some professional cosplayers. They were really nice and loved J’s outfit. After meeting some new friends I took J home and went back to the convention center to see Adam West and William Shatner talk about their careers. It was an evening I will never forget.

Cosplay
J and some professional cosplayers (L-R: Nicole Marie Jean, LeeAnna Vamp, and Constantine in Tokyo)

Saturday was just crazy. It was the only day of the three that had an official “SOLD OUT” stamp. I only wanted to take J in the morning (he was part of a children’s costume parade), and then I took him home. There were some panels I wanted to attend, but there was something else I had to take care of. There was a huge line for Stan Lee autographs and pictures, and I wanted to make sure that I got his autograph. So instead of going to panels, I sat in line for hours waiting to get a signature. As the line moved and I got closer to the “Generalisimo” my started beating faster (I mean come on STAN LEE!!!) and I was getting nervous that he wouldn’t like what I had for him to sign. When I handed him the poster he looked at the preteen standing in front of me and asked if he liked the Phineas and Ferb: Mission Marvel special. The kid gave a puzzled look and I said, “Uh, that’s mine…It’s for my two year old. And he and I loved it.” To which he smiled and said, “Great job, Dad.”

Stan Lee
Stan Lee signing my son’s Phineas and Ferb Poster

Salt Lake City’s first Comic Con was a success in my book, and hearing some of the things they have planned for this year makes me think that it will be successful for a long time.

