X-Men: Days of Future Past review

x_men_days_of_future_past_banner-wide

***Possible spoilers***

I finally went to see the new X-Men film yesterday. Days of Future Past is the best X-Men film to date. The things I didn’t like about the movie were definitely outweighed by the things I liked. The actions sequences were epic, the casting was yet again amazing, the mutants brought into this installment were legendary. The story was… ok,  my main issues were that the adding of a power to a certain mutant just to have her in the film, when they could have just added Forge to the movie. Also I didn’t like the Sentinels of the future. To me the idea of the Sentinels was not that the mutants couldn’t take them out, but that they just outnumbered the mutants. The film does a fantastic job describing the Sentinel take over and why the world is the way it is. But to be honest I have always judged X-Men movies by the comics and the 90s cartoons and never wanted to separated them, but (thanks to The Walking Dead TV show and comics) I now see this First Class series in a new light. I am glad that the “villain” was the same as the Days of Future Past cartoon episodes although I would have liked to have seen more similarities,  i.e Bishop being the time traveler and most of all Gambit being in the movie, but I understand why they went the way they did.

The film left me excited for the next installment, but I would give X-Men Days of Future Past 4/5 stars. But really what does my opinion matter. If you’re a fan of all things X-Men then you should be seeing this movie anyway, so stop reading and go see it. If you’ve already why not tell me what you liked and didn’t like.

PS: Stay until the end of the entire credits…you won’t be sorry.

Leave a Reply

