No More Bullying

GotG Bullying

©Marvel 2015

Of all my fears as a parent, one of my biggest fears is that my son grows up to become a bully. As a parent I try to teach how not to be a bully and to stand up for those being bullied, but you never know if those teachings will hold when that time comes. All you can do is hope that your child remembers what you’ve taught them and they make the right decisions.

In my life, I have been bullied, helped someone who was being bullied, and sadly became a bully myself. I have since apologized to those that I have bullied and hope that they were able to forgive me for my past actions.

When I was bullied I remember hating myself for being different. I found myself hiding who I really was more and more each day. I wanted to be liked, so I feel like I changed my personality entirely to be the kid who was liked by everyone. I feel like that personality has followed me into adulthood and now I fear that it could be something that I could pass on to J.

Something I have learned from being a bully is that it’s not the “strong” bullying the “weak”, but the “weak” bullying someone to make themselves look “strong”. I’ve come to the realization that those who are bullied are the strong ones and the reason they are being bullied is because the bully is jealous of who the one being bullied is.

As someone who has helped other people being bullied, I’ve learned that it feels so much better standing up for your fellow human being rather than tearing them down. I learned that I felt better as a person surrounding myself with “outsiders” and being myself instead of forcing myself to fit in with the “cool kids”.

So how do we teach our kids all the aspects of bullying? Thankfully, there are tons of resources out there that parents can use to help teach their kids about the consequences of bullying. Lucky for us, I didn’t even have to step foot out of Black Cat Comics (our local comicbook store) to find a great resource that I think will really speak to J. The amazing people over at Marvel released Avengers: No More Bullying on January 7th of this year and it is a comicbook that I think everyone with kids should have.

Avengers: No More Bullying explores three different story lines where characters deal with being bullied, helping those being bullied, and how one overcomes bullying. I apologize for not being a great reviewer, but this is a comicbook that parents should read and discuss with their kids. Together we can eradicate bullying, but we need to work together.

Leave a Reply

