So Your Kids Want to See Deadpool

I get it, I really do. Your kids probably fell in love with the Deadpool that guest starred on his very own episode of Ultimate Spider-Man. My kid and I loved the Ultimate Deadpool episode too. Here is where I am going to stop you and say that the Deadpool that is in theaters right now is not the Deadpool we see in Ultimate Deadpool.

Ultimate_Spider-Man_216_Ultimate_Deadpool_HD_0000117492

©Disney

The Deadpool movie that is in theaters right now makes Ultimate Deadpool look like an episode of Teletubies. Deadpool is not intended for kids, this movie was made for adults. There is violence galore, with shots of brains being blown out of heads, language like you’ve yet to see in a movie, I’ve heard someone has counted 80+ “F Bombs”, and there is about a 3-5 minute sex montage, with glimpses of frontal and rear nudity.

Do not, I repeat “DO NOT”, take your kids to see Deadpool. If they really want to see Deadpool, log in to Netflix and watch Ultimate Deadpool a few times. Now that I’ve got that off my chest, let me tell you what I thought about the movie.

DP Movie FI

Photo by Joe Lederer – © 2015 Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation

Deadpool fans rejoice, 20th Century Fox did not screw this one up, like the other movies about certain mutated characters. Deadpool is everything that you’ve been waiting for. Ryan Reynolds shows why he was the only choice for Wade Wilson/Deadpool. Reynolds brings out what we loved about the “Merc with the Mouth” from the comic books. I thought the movie was funny and as a Deadpool fan it made sense. I do think that there is a small lull during the origin story portion, but I understand why they had to tell the story, so it didn’t bother me too much.

Colossus and Nega-Sonic Teenage Warhead were fun additions to tie into the X-Men Franchise, and while I am not a big fan of that franchise, it will be fun to see where Deadpool fits in with the X-Men in future Deadpool films. The entire cast was on point and brought their “A game” to the movie. The special effects crew really brought it and made Deadpool look spectacular.

If you are not offended by gratuitous swearing, violence, the sight of breasts or a penis, then head on down to the theater and watch Deadpool. If you are offended by things I have mentioned, then do not watch Deadpool. If you are offended by the things mentioned and still go see the movie, I think you forfeit your right to complain about the violence, nudity, and/or swearing. You have been warned, this movie is not for the faint of heart or children.

I personally loved the movie and hope that 20th Century Fox doesn’t screw up Deadpool 2.

DON’T TAKE YOUR KIDS TO DEADPOOL!!!!!

Leave a Reply

